Ohio State May Be Ineligible for the Big Ten Championship Game

Ohio State May Be Ineligible for the Big Ten Championship Game

Ohio St Tressel Trouble Football

When Ohio State and Jim Tressel meet with the NCAA August 12th and a verdict is made on Jim Tressel’s violation for not being open about player violations during last season, the Buckeyes may face post-season bans similar to USC. And following a Pac-10 example, the Scarlet and Gray may be ineligible for the first Big Ten championship game to be played in Lucas Oil Stadium Indianapolis at the end of the 2011 season.

By Steve Patterson

"The next step will play out over the next few months between the institution and the NCAA," Commissioner Delany said yesterday. "Facts will be developed. There will be a lot of hard questions for Ohio State." So the final verdict has not been made but allowing the Buckeyes to play in and possible win the Big Ten Championship game with them not being able to represent the conference in post-season play is not logical.

Delany did state that he is disappointed and surprised by the events in Columbus lately. And wants programs in the Big Ten to continue to pass information about violations to the appropriate bodies as the league has suggested consistently in the past.

powered by metaPost
BrutusReport.com
Tags: Buckeyes Football NCAA Ohio State
print
Relatd Articles
Dozens of Ohio State Items Traded for a SUV, Money and Tattoos
Five Ohio State Players Suspended for Five Games in 2011
Head Coach Jim Tressel Faces a Rules Violation Suspension and Fines
Jim Tressel Resigns According to the Dispatch
Marc Dantonio Builds a Big Ten Contender
Ohio State's Self-Imposed Penalties Vacate 2010 Season
OSU Pays Jim Tressel $52,250, Waives Fine





blog comments powered by Disqus

Sponsors

7Day Free Trial with AccuScore

Ohio State 2017 Football Schedule

Cotton Bowl v USC 12/29 24-7

Big Ten Football Championship 27-21
Thu, Aug 31 @ Indiana 49-21

Sat, Sep 9 vs Oklahoma 16-31

Sat, Sep 16 vs Army 38-7

Sat, Sep 23 vs UNLV 54-21

Sat, Sep 30 @ Rutgers 56-0

Sat, Oct 7 vs Maryland 62-14

Sat, Oct 14 @ Nebraska 56-14

Sat, Oct 28 vs Penn State 39-38

Sat, Nov 4 @ Iowa 24-55

Sat, Nov 11 vs MI State 48-3

Sat, Nov 18 vs Illinois 52-14

Sat, Nov 25 @ Michigan 31-20

  • Bear
  • Print

  • Photos
  • Print

  • Photos
  • Print