Ohio State Running Back Rod Smith Dismissed

Ohio State Running Back Rod Smith Dismissed

RodSmith

The Dispatch is reporting that Rod Smith failed a drug test and has been dismissed from the Ohio State football team. After a pretty decent 7 game run with the Buckeyes this season, the senior cannot finish the year. He had a couple of issues in the spring with meeting attendance and academics but had come around. He became the short yardage runner this fall rushing for 5 touchdowns and 101 yards.

His renewed focus and work ethic had gotten the attention of the coaches who in turn gave him the additional role and work in games. He attributed his renewed effort to the running backs on the team that had stayed positive towards him during the earlier issues.

Smith was recruited as a high ranking recruit out of Indiana with great promise. His time at Ohio State never lived up to his high school performance. Smith missed a flight to the Gator Bowl in 2011 and had some fumbling issues early in his career in addition to the issues in the spring of 2014. The turn around was a great testament to his personal strength but has now been thrown away with the reported drug issue.

BrutusReport.com
Tags: Buckeyes Football NCAA Ohio State
print





blog comments powered by Disqus

Sponsors


New York Yankees Tickets

Ohio State 2017 Football Schedule

Cotton Bowl v USC 12/29 24-7

Big Ten Football Championship 27-21
Thu, Aug 31 @ Indiana 49-21

Sat, Sep 9 vs Oklahoma 16-31

Sat, Sep 16 vs Army 38-7

Sat, Sep 23 vs UNLV 54-21

Sat, Sep 30 @ Rutgers 56-0

Sat, Oct 7 vs Maryland 62-14

Sat, Oct 14 @ Nebraska 56-14

Sat, Oct 28 vs Penn State 39-38

Sat, Nov 4 @ Iowa 24-55

Sat, Nov 11 vs MI State 48-3

Sat, Nov 18 vs Illinois 52-14

Sat, Nov 25 @ Michigan 31-20

  • Bear
  • Print

  • Photos
  • Print

  • Photos
  • Print