Chris Holtmann Joins The Buckeyes As Coach

Chris Holtmann Joins The Buckeyes As Coach

ChrisHoltmann

The Buckeyes Officially Name Chris Holtmann as Chief Basketball Coach

On Friday, Chris Holtmann was named officially as the fourteenth chief coach of Ohio State. Thad Matta, the previous coach, departed on Monday following thirteen seasons in charge.

Holtmann has been signed for eight years, and will earn a salary of roughly three million dollars per year. A press release from the university stated that the contract details are yet to be fully decided, and will be announced in the near future. Holtmann is set to be introduced officially at a media conference on Monday at 11:00, at the Value City Arena.

Gene Smith, Athletic Director for the Buckeyes, made a statement saying that Holtmann is a man of integrity and a proven winner, who is enthusiastic about the task in front of him.

Forty-five year old Holtmann arrives at the Buckeyes following a few seasons as the chief coach for Butler. During that time with the Bulldogs, he achieved a record of 70--31 and guided his team through the NCAA tournament each year.

Butler completed the previous season 25-9 overall. The team placed second at the Big East Conference, and made it through to the Sweet Sixteen at the NCAA tournament.

Before his time at Butler, Holtmann was chief coach for a few seasons at Gardner Webb. While there, he compiled a record of 44--54. He joined Butler in an assistant role, after leaving Gardner Webb. Then, he became Butler's interim chief coach in October 2014, after Brandon Miller left due to medical reasons.

Chris Holtmann Opening Statement
BrutusReport.com
Tags: Basketball Buckeyes NCAA NCAA Tournament Ohio State Recruiting
print





blog comments powered by Disqus

Sponsors

Drizly

Ohio State 2017 Football Schedule

Cotton Bowl v USC 12/29 24-7

Big Ten Football Championship 27-21
Thu, Aug 31 @ Indiana 49-21

Sat, Sep 9 vs Oklahoma 16-31

Sat, Sep 16 vs Army 38-7

Sat, Sep 23 vs UNLV 54-21

Sat, Sep 30 @ Rutgers 56-0

Sat, Oct 7 vs Maryland 62-14

Sat, Oct 14 @ Nebraska 56-14

Sat, Oct 28 vs Penn State 39-38

Sat, Nov 4 @ Iowa 24-55

Sat, Nov 11 vs MI State 48-3

Sat, Nov 18 vs Illinois 52-14

Sat, Nov 25 @ Michigan 31-20

  • Bear
  • Print

  • Photos
  • Print

  • Photos
  • Print