Coach Tressel Discusses Ada Ohio and the Importance of Academics

Coach Tressel Discusses Ada Ohio and the Importance of Academics

Coach Tressel Discusses Ada Ohio and the Importance of Academics

Ohio State’s Head Football Coach Jim Tressel was present at the Wilson Football Museum in Ada Ohio recently and discussed several topics with the NCAA.org.

By Steve Patterson

    Coach Jim Tessel feels the history of football is very important to Ada, Ohio and The State of Ohio itself. “It’s such a part of our culture here—those of us that grew up in Ohio—and of course really in the entire country.” Coach Tressel said at the Wilson Football Museum. “Football is that one sport that’s American. It’s not played anywhere else very well…every leather football that’s made in this country is made right here in Ohio, right here in my mom and dad’s hometown.”

    But he still feels that academics are just as important as football for the players that come to Ohio State on a sports scholarship. “One of the first things we do in recruiting is make sure they understand that if they come to Ohio State, it’s going to be more than just about football. Really football is the given. That’s their favorite subject. That’s their passion, but we make sure they know before they come that we’re going to be involved in a lot more than just that. With our love of football, we can make a difference in other areas and we can also be the best student we’re capable of being.”

Portions courtesy of NCAA.org

BrutusReport.com
Tags: Buckeyes Football Ohio State
print





blog comments powered by Disqus

Sponsors


PC Repair. In Minutes.

Ohio State 2017 Football Schedule

Cotton Bowl v USC 12/29 24-7

Big Ten Football Championship 27-21
Thu, Aug 31 @ Indiana 49-21

Sat, Sep 9 vs Oklahoma 16-31

Sat, Sep 16 vs Army 38-7

Sat, Sep 23 vs UNLV 54-21

Sat, Sep 30 @ Rutgers 56-0

Sat, Oct 7 vs Maryland 62-14

Sat, Oct 14 @ Nebraska 56-14

Sat, Oct 28 vs Penn State 39-38

Sat, Nov 4 @ Iowa 24-55

Sat, Nov 11 vs MI State 48-3

Sat, Nov 18 vs Illinois 52-14

Sat, Nov 25 @ Michigan 31-20

  • Bear
  • Print

  • Photos
  • Print

  • Photos
  • Print