Ex-Buckeye Whitner takes 1st Round Player under His Wing

Ex-Buckeye Whitner takes 1st Round Player under His Wing
Donte Whitner

Ex-Buckeye Whitner takes 1st Round Player under His Wing

While he was at Ohio State, Donte Whitner was known for being a leader on and off the field.  As a pro, things are no different.  Chris Brown, of BuffaloBills.com, reports that first round choice CB  Leodis McKelvin is living in Donte's home. 

By Bill Smith

            McKelvin, the 11th pick overall, came from Troy State.  While he is an outstanding athlete, he has never been involved in the complex defenses of the NFL.  He has never been part of a man-zone combination or a rotating zone.  He has a great deal of upside.  Nothing will get a coach fired faster than having a team with a lot of upside that is never realized.

            Donte has been known not only as a hard hitter but one of the smarter young safeties in the league.  He is helping keep McKelvin on track to realize his potential.  He might also be thinking about a coaching career after his playing days are over. 

            Hopefully for Ohio State and Buffalo Bill fans, that day is a long way away.

Bill Smith is a former coach of several semi-pro teams and has scouted talent.  He is a senior writer for http://BrutusReport.com.  He has also published several novels on http://ebooks-library.com/index.cfm and edits http://fryingpanpolitics.blog.com
BrutusReport.com
Tags: Football NFL
print





blog comments powered by Disqus

Sponsors

ShaveMob

Ohio State 2017 Football Schedule

Thu, Aug 31 @ Indiana 8:00 PM

Sat, Sep 9 vs Oklahoma 7:30 PM

Sat, Sep 16 vs Army 4:30 PM Tickets

Sat, Sep 23 vs UNLV 12:00 PM Tickets

Sat, Sep 30 @ Rutgers TBD Tickets

Sat, Oct 7 vs Maryland TBD Tickets

Sat, Oct 14 @ Nebraska TBD Tickets

Sat, Oct 28 vs Penn State 3:30 PM Tickets

Sat, Nov 4 @ Iowa TBD Tickets

Sat, Nov 11 vs MI State TBD Tickets

Sat, Nov 18 vs Illinois TBD Tickets

Sat, Nov 25 @ Michigan 12:00 PM Tickets