Corruption in Summer Employment

Corruption in Summer Employment

Corruption in Summer Employment

There will always be employers that pay star athletes for work they never did. Some schools buy houses for players, and some buy cars.

Writer's Q&A: Should Ohio State follow Oklahoma in limiting student employment over the summer?

Bill Smith: Even a blind squirrel finds a nut once in a while. The NCAA is the blindest and nuttiest organization I know of. The rules that they have to control everything of the life of a player including heart rate and breathing are more than sufficient. To further limit what a student-athlete can do is overkill. It will hurt recruiting and irritate players that signed with OSU before the rule was in place but would be subject to it.

Ryan Leonardo: I don't think so. There will always be employers that pay star athletes for work they never did. Some schools buy houses for players, and some buy cars.  Some (Jim O'Brien) just give away $6,000 cash.  Whether you want to believe otherwise, major NCAA football is a business and there will always be corruption and deceit.

Steve Patterson: Who doesn’t like the stipend ideal? Give the players enough extra cash so that they can afford some entertainment and college type activity. Then there’s no need to work over the summer and for the university to monitor their employment. Boosters will still be trying to line top player’s pockets, but a stipend is a good way to make the temptation not as attractive.

BrutusReport.com
Tags: Buckeyes Football NCAA
print
Relatd Articles
Three Years Since the Bulldogs Went From Underdogs to Top Dogs





blog comments powered by Disqus

Sponsors





Ohio State 2017 Football Schedule

Cotton Bowl v USC 12/29 24-7

Big Ten Football Championship 27-21
Thu, Aug 31 @ Indiana 49-21

Sat, Sep 9 vs Oklahoma 16-31

Sat, Sep 16 vs Army 38-7

Sat, Sep 23 vs UNLV 54-21

Sat, Sep 30 @ Rutgers 56-0

Sat, Oct 7 vs Maryland 62-14

Sat, Oct 14 @ Nebraska 56-14

Sat, Oct 28 vs Penn State 39-38

Sat, Nov 4 @ Iowa 24-55

Sat, Nov 11 vs MI State 48-3

Sat, Nov 18 vs Illinois 52-14

Sat, Nov 25 @ Michigan 31-20

  • Bear
  • Print

  • Photos
  • Print

  • Photos
  • Print