Dawawn Whitner, Transferring in January

Dawawn Whitner, Transferring in January
Dawawn Whitner

Dawawn Whitner, Transferring in January

Dawawn Whitner hoped to have followed his brother from Glenville to Ohio State to the NFL but had to a make a short stop at Columbus State to get his grades in order. Now he is hoping to become a Buckeye at the end of the Fall Quarter.

By Steve Patterson

Columbus State

            Cleveland Glenville Defensive Tackle Dawawn Whitner is the first recruit in memory to attend Columbus State while trying to get their classes taken care of. Junior Colleges out of the area are often the desired destination but Columbus State allows Whitner to be close to the OSU program and finish up in the winter instead of spending a full year away. “I haven’t started the year at Columbus State yet. I will be starting in September.” He reported to us.

Ohio State

            The coaches have told Whitner that he can enroll at OSU and become a Buckeye in the winter with one condition. “The coaches told me that I have to maintain a 3.0 to transfer to Ohio State.” He told us yesterday. “If all goes well I will become a Buckeye in January.” The excited freshman said about his dream to wear the Scarlet and the Gray.

Glenville Pipeline

            Glenville has sent a number of great prospects to Ohio State since Coach Tressel took over the program. Whitner knows a number of current Buckeyes and stays in contact with them in addition to his brother Donte who know plays for Buffalo Bills. “Yea I’m pretty close to Rob Rose, Bryant Browning, Shawntel Rowell, Jarmale Hines, Jermil Martin.” He explained. Whitner could be a part of a three man Glenville group joining in 2009 along with already committed Jonathan Newsome and offensive lineman Marcus Hall.

BrutusReport.com
Tags: Buckeyes Football Ohio State Recruiting
print





blog comments powered by Disqus

Sponsors

Ohio State 2017 Football Schedule

Thu, Aug 31 @ Indiana 8:00 PM

Sat, Sep 9 vs Oklahoma 7:30 PM

Sat, Sep 16 vs Army 4:30 PM

Sat, Sep 23 vs UNLV 12:00 PM

Sat, Sep 30 @ Rutgers 7:30 PM

Sat, Oct 7 vs Maryland TBD

Sat, Oct 14 @ Nebraska TBD

Sat, Oct 28 vs Penn State 3:30 PM

Sat, Nov 4 @ Iowa TBD

Sat, Nov 11 vs MI State TBD

Sat, Nov 18 vs Illinois TBD

Sat, Nov 25 @ Michigan 12:00 PM Tickets

  • Photos
  • Print