Team Captains Selected for the Buckeyes

Team Captains Selected for the Buckeyes
Todd Boeckman

Team Captains Selected for the Buckeyes

Ohio State selected team captains for the Football Buckeyes yesterday and comments by the four players were made available to the media. Seniors Todd Boeckman, James Laurinaitis, Malcolm Jenkins, and Brian Robiskie will be the 2008 captains.

By Steve Patterson

QB Todd Boeckman

            Todd Boeckman returns as the starting quarterback on a veteran team that is expected to compete for a third straight National Championship and Big Ten title. He expressed thankfulness for the recognition of team captain. “I’m extremely thankful and honored by the confidence shown by my teammates in my leadership,” Boeckman said. “It’s a great feeling to have that type of role in this football program. You’re part of something much bigger than yourself.”

            The first Captain’s Breakfast occurred in 1934 when a local businessman invited 24 former captains to breakfast to honor them at Homecoming. The tradition has continued on and every former captain is invited back to campus for the breakfast the week of the game. Last year’s captains were fullback Dionte Johnson, junior linebacker James Laurinaitis, and offensive lineman Kirk Barton.

CB Malcolm Jenkins

            Jenkins is likely honored to be a 2008 captain but also sees it as an opportunity. “When you think back on all the past captains at Ohio State, you realize what a great honor and opportunity this is,” said Jenkins. “This team is a very special collection of remarkable people; that’s why I came back for another year – to be around these guys.” Jenkins and Laurinaitis could have been first round NFL selections in the past draft but decided to return for their senior seasons.

LB James Laurinaitis

            Laurinaitis might have been selected to be a captain as a junior because no one expected him to return in addition to being a leader on the defensive side of the ball. “It’s unbelievable to have the chance to represent the type of player and people we have on this team as their captain for another year,” Laurinaitis said. “With the number of outstanding leaders we have on our team, I will work to lead everyone in every way I can, on and off the field.”

            There have only been a number of two-year captains in the past. Richard T. Ellis (1891-92), Archie Griffin (1974-75), Glen Cobb (1981-82), Thomas Johnson (1984-85), Joe Cooper (2000-01), Steve Bellisari (2000-01).

WR Bran Robiskie

            Brian Robiskie is the fourth captain on the team, a talented position receiver who feels humbled by the honor. “First and foremost, it humbles you. To have the respect of your teammates in such a way is definitely an honor,” he said. “The tradition of guys who have led this team in the past shows you what an honor it is.”

*Portions courtesy of
Tags: Buckeyes Football Ohio State

blog comments powered by Disqus


Ohio State 2017 Football Schedule

Cotton Bowl v USC 12/29 24-7

Big Ten Football Championship 27-21
Thu, Aug 31 @ Indiana 49-21

Sat, Sep 9 vs Oklahoma 16-31

Sat, Sep 16 vs Army 38-7

Sat, Sep 23 vs UNLV 54-21

Sat, Sep 30 @ Rutgers 56-0

Sat, Oct 7 vs Maryland 62-14

Sat, Oct 14 @ Nebraska 56-14

Sat, Oct 28 vs Penn State 39-38

Sat, Nov 4 @ Iowa 24-55

Sat, Nov 11 vs MI State 48-3

Sat, Nov 18 vs Illinois 52-14

Sat, Nov 25 @ Michigan 31-20

  • Bear
  • Print

  • Photos
  • Print

  • Photos
  • Print