Old School: Buckeyes in the College Football Hall of Fame

Old School: Buckeyes in the College Football Hall of Fame
College Football HOF

Old School:  Buckeyes in the College Football Hall of Fame

There are 26 former OSU people in the CFHF.  We here at BrutusReport.com just wanted to honor them for their achievements and contribution to OSU.

By Bill Smith

            This is the list of all the former Buckeyes that have been enshrined in the Hall.  Some of these names you will all recognize and some even I am not old enough to remember.  But each deserves mention and honor.  To that end, we honor them here and thank them again for all they did to add to the texture and depth of the OSU glory and history.  John Cooper is not listed because he will not be enshrined until July 2009.

            Each of these men deserve our thanks for their contributions to our Buckeye tradition.           

Name                           Position           Years*                         Inducted

Howard Jones             Coach              1908-1940                   1951

John Wilce                   Coach              1913-1928                   1954

Chic Harley                 Halfback         1916-1917, 1919         1951

Gaylord Stinchcomb   Halfback         1917, 1919-1920         1973

Francis "Close the Gates of Mercy" Schmidt

                                    Coach              1919-1942                   1971

Wes Fesler                   End                 1928-1930                   1954

Gomer Jones               Center             1933-1935                   1978

Gust Zarnas                 Guard              1935-1937                   1975

Jim "Big Jim" Daniell  Tackle              1939-1941                   1977

Les Horvath    Halfback/Quarterback1940-1942, 1944         1969

Bill "Deke" Willis        Tackle              1942-1944                   1971

Warren Amling            Guard/Tackle   1944-1946                   1984

Woody Hayes             Coach              1946-1978                   1983

Vic Janowicz               Halfback         1949-1951                   1976

Hopalong Cassady      Halfback         1952-1955                   1979

Jim "Big Jim" Parker   Guard              1954-1956                   1974

Aurealius Thomas       Guard              1955-1957                   1989

Jim Houston                End                 1957-1959                   2005

Bob Ferguson              Fullback          1959-1961                   1996

Rex Kern                     Quarterback    1968-1970                   2007

Jack "The Assassin" Tatum     

                                    Safety              1968-1970                   2004

Jim Stillwagon            Middle Guard 1968-1970                   1991

John Hicks                  Tackle              1970, 1972-1973         2001

Randy Gradishar         Linebacker      1971-1973                   1998

Archie Griffin             Halfback         1972-1975                   1986

Earle Bruce                 Coach              1972-1992                   2002

*The years include those coaching other teams as well as OSU.

NOTE:  Please add your personal comments or memories to this posting.  In that way you can contribute to all of our memories of those that have helped build our tradition.

Thank you in advance for your comments.

Bill Smith is a former coach of several semi-pro teams and has scouted talent.  He is a senior writer for http://BrutusReport.com.  He has also published several novels on http://ebooks-library.com/index.cfm and edits http://fryingpanpolitics.blog.com


blog comments powered by Disqus