Previewing Ohio State Vs. Cal Football Game

Previewing Ohio State Vs. Cal Football Game

Previewing Ohio State Vs. Cal Football Game

When Ohio State football travels to California on Saturday, there are some concerns for the nationally ranked Buckeyes. Their quarterback Braxton Miller is day to day after suffering a knee injury last week against San Diego State. Miller sprained his left MCL on the first Ohio State offensive possession of the game and could not return. Luckily, backup QB Kenny Guiton proved he could lead the Buckeyes in Miller's absence. If Miller is able and can play at his usual level, there is no doubt he will have the chance. He is considered among the Heisman favorites this year, and given his work ethic, it will surprise many if he doesn't play.

Cal is coming off a huge win against Portland State, after dropping their first game to Northwestern. Their offense has been proven sound behind true freshman quarterback Jared Goff, who leads the nation having already thrown for 930 yards and 4 touchdowns. Goff spreads his passes around, hitting thirteen different Bears for completions in the first two games. Unfortunately, the defense is not so hot, ranking a dismal 118th in the country.

Ohio State goes into the match-up with a 14 game winning streak, the longest in the nation. This is the second consecutive season the teams have met, with OSU winning last year in Columbus. They will be playing in Berkeley for the first time since 1972. In fact, it will be the first regular season game the Buckeyes have played in the state since 2008. Ohio State is 6-1 overall against Cal. Look for big passes from the young Goff to keep Cal in the game, but Ohio State will still pull out the win.

Braxton Miller, Kenny Guiton battle in circle drill before Ohio State

f

BrutusReport.com
Tags: Buckeyes Football NCAA Ohio State
print





blog comments powered by Disqus

Ohio State 2019 Football Schedule

Sat, Aug 31
vs Florida Atlantic Florida Atlantic
12:00 PM FOX
45-21 Win

Sat, Sep 7
vs Cincinnati Cincinnati
12:00 PM ABC
42-0 Win

Sat, Sep 14
@Indiana
12:00 PM FOX
51-10 Win

Sat, Sep 21
vs Miami (OH)
3:30 PM BTN
76-5 Win

Sat, Sep 28
@Nebraska
7:30 PM ABC

Sat, Oct 5
vs Michigan State
7:30 PM ABC/ESPN

Fri, Oct 18
@Northwestern
8:30 PM FS1

Sat, Oct 26
vs Wisconsin
TBD

Sat, Nov 9
vs Maryland
TBD

Sat, Nov 16
@Rutgers
TBD

Sat, Nov 23
vs Penn State
TBD

Sat, Nov 30
@Michigan
12:00 PM FOX

Sat Dec 7
Big Ten Championship Game
8:00 PM FOX