Tony Alford Sees Opportunity At Ohio State

Tony Alford Sees Opportunity At Ohio State

TonyAlford

Tony Alford saw the opportunity at Ohio State to develop from a running backs coach into a head coach under Urban Meyer, and that is one reason he took the running backs coach position with the Buckeyes. A Notre Dame RBs coach the last six years, Alford is taking over the OSU job today after Stan Drayton moved onto the NFL. Also a recruiting coordinator for the Fighting Irish, the Colorado State running back turned coach, hopes to learn under Meyer and develop into a head coach. His recruiting skills led Notre Dame to have the 6th best recruiting class in the country this year.

He joins other Notre Dame coaches at Ohio State including Tim Horton and Ed Warinner. Alford disqualified claims that the move was driven by money as Notre Dame does not pay assistants as much as other schools. He is looking five years out and sees Ohio State as an important step to the next level of coaching.

Alford will coach two running backs that he recruited for Notre Dame in Mike Weber and Ezekiel Elliott. He has had a little bit of a tough time leaving Notre Dame with reports of him calling some of the kids he recruited and crying during his final talks.

Alford leaving ND
BrutusReport.com
Tags: Buckeyes NCAA Ohio State Recruiting
print
Relatd Articles
Four-Star Athlete Steele Chambers Joins The Ohio State!
Ohio State Spring Game 2016 Roster
Running Back JK Dobbins Could See Many Touches In Ohio State Opener
Ryan Days 2019 Ohio State Football Staff





blog comments powered by Disqus

Ohio State 2019 Football Schedule

Sat, Aug 31
vs Florida Atlantic Florida Atlantic
12:00 PM FOX
45-21 Win

Sat, Sep 7
vs Cincinnati Cincinnati
12:00 PM ABC
42-0 Win

Sat, Sep 14
@Indiana
12:00 PM FOX
51-10 Win

Sat, Sep 21
vs Miami (OH)
3:30 PM BTN
76-5 Win

Sat, Sep 28
@Nebraska
7:30 PM ABC

Sat, Oct 5
vs Michigan State
7:30 PM ABC/ESPN

Fri, Oct 18
@Northwestern
8:30 PM FS1

Sat, Oct 26
vs Wisconsin
TBD

Sat, Nov 9
vs Maryland
TBD

Sat, Nov 16
@Rutgers
TBD

Sat, Nov 23
vs Penn State
TBD

Sat, Nov 30
@Michigan
12:00 PM FOX

Sat Dec 7
Big Ten Championship Game
8:00 PM FOX