Ohio State Playoffs in Columbus 2014 and 2015

Ohio State Playoffs in Columbus 2014 and 2015

OHSAA Football Championships

Ohio State Playoffs in Columbus 2014 and 2015

Stark County and Columbus High Schools were awarded the right to host two state football championships each starting in 2012. The Board of Directors for the Ohio High School Athletic Association cast their vote during a conference call today. The special meeting and vote was called after a recommendation was handed down by the eleven members of the football finals subcommittee.

For the past two decades, Stark County has played host to finals competition and there are two years remaining on their current contract. Stark was awarded the championships in 2012 and 2013 and Columbus will take over for the following two years. The Board left their options open to discuss host locations in future years at a later date. Massillon Paul Brown Stadium and Canton Fawcett Stadium will play host for Stark County on a two-day rotation schedule. Ohio Stadium at Ohio State University will serve as home field for the games played in Columbus and use a similar two-day format.

Joining Columbus and Stark County in bids for the coveted state finals games were groups from Toledo, Bowling Green, Cincinnati, Ken State and Akron/Canton. The subcommittee entertained presentations on April 26 from groups representing all hopefuls except Toledo and Bowling Green. After the two finalists made the short list, subcommittee members paid visits to Massillon and Canton on June 2 and OSU on June 8 to tour and inspect the facilities.

The proposals were finalized in meetings held with each group during the final week in June. It took two meetings for the members of the subcommittee to come to their final decision. The subcommittee first met by conference call on July 14 in an attempt to finalize their recommendation but did not reach an agreement at that time. They reconvened today and were able to present their final recommendation. Serving on the subcommittee that made this recommendation were three Football Coaches Association for Ohio High School officers, five administrative staff members from the OHSAA and three members from the OHSAA Board of Directors.

powered by metaPost
Relatd Articles
Big 33 the High School All Star Classic Winner
Brad Rogers: Ohio High School Star Now an Iowa Hawkeye
High School All Star Games are Here
Ohio State Recruits Complete High School at Big 33
Tajh Boyd - MVP of the Army All American High School All Star Bowl

blog comments powered by Disqus