Oregon Ducks win the Pac 10: Will face Ohio State Buckeyes in the Rose Bowl

Oregon Ducks win the Pac 10: Will face Ohio State Buckeyes in the Rose Bowl

Oregon Ducks Blount

Oregon Ducks win the Pac 10: Will face Ohio State Buckeyes in the Rose Bowl

Thursday night the Oregon Ducks beat the Oregon State Beavers 37-33 in the annual rivalry match. This time was more special than most as the winner would become the Pac 10 title holder and play Ohio State in the BCS Rose Bowl January 1st.

By Steve Patterson

LaMichael James was the star of the show for Oregon, finishing with 166 yards on the ground and three touchdowns. Oregon State could not stop James all night as he also caught 2 passes for 15 yards. Oregon quarterback Jeremiah Masoli had a decent night with 201 yards and a touchdown throwing the ball. But his 2 turnovers gave the Beavers a chance to win until a final drive by Oregon ate up the remaining 6 minutes of time in the fourth quarter.


Oregon was content to run the ball and take time off the clock during the game. Masoli ran 10 times for 40 yards while LeGarrette Blount was able to utilize his power running game and gained 51 yards along with a touchdown. Blount is now famous for his opening game non-sportsman-like punch to a Boise State player that led to a multi-game suspension for the 2009 season.

Ohio State

Ohio State has been waiting for over a week to see who they will play and now they can begin preparation for the Ducks. The Buckeyes have the 5th best rush defense in the country, only allowing 83 yards a game on the ground. The Buckeye’s passing defense isn’t bad either ranking 18th nationwide. Oregon could have it’s hands full when it arrives in Pasadena on New Years Day as they excel on offense but often give up a lot of points and yards during a game.

powered by metaPost
Relatd Articles
Little Room For Error For Ohio State Now
Ohio State 2010 Rose Bowl Champions
Ohio State Buckeyes Win Outright Big Ten Title with Michigan Victory
Ohio State Head Coach Jim Tressel Stresses Turnovers
Ohio State in Place to win the Big Ten and Attend the Rose Bowl
Ohio State to Miss Robert Rose and Ray Small for Bowl Game
Pentello and Gibson Leaving, Heyward and Chekwa Staying
Rose Bowl: No 8 Ohio State Buckeyes v No 7 Oregon Ducks
Ten Buckeye Football Players Receive Big Ten Honors
Wide Receiver Duron Carter Ineligible for the Rose Bowl
Wisconsin Puts the Hurt on Miami to Score for the Big Ten

blog comments powered by Disqus